Day Ninety-Three (The 100)

z10

I thought catching up to this show would be a relief. I could know what the fandom was talking about. I could understand the angst. There would be no more running and hiding from spoilers. Except now that I’ve caught up, I don’t feel better at all. If anything, I want to erase my memory and rewatch the whole journey all over again for the first time. Either that or time travel to next year so I can watch all of Season 5 right now. I do not want to wait. I need to know what happens to these characters. Do Bellamy and Clarke finally get together? Are Abby and Kane okay? What about the crew in the sky? Who are the prisoners? Will this little girl be a welcome addition or the Dawn Summers of the series? I need to know these things.

I’ve been meaning to watch this show for awhile now. And by “meaning to watch” I moreso mean that it’s been assaulting my tumblr feed for the past four years or so. A couple of weeks ago I found a Bellamy/Clarke image set that gave me feelings and it was in that moment that I knew I had to finally watch this show. Oftentimes I watch shows for reasons that are small or insignificant. I joined this fandom for one ship. What I didn’t expect was to be blown away by the entire show, all of the characters, and all of the ships. I also didn’t expect my heart to be shattered into a million pieces. But that’s cool too, I guess.

My favorite character’s, hands-down, are Kane, Lincoln, Sinclair, and Bellamy. Everyone is fantastic and it would be impossible to rank them. Roan, Raven, Monty, Jasper, Abby, Clarke, Murphy, Finn, Wells, Luna, Lexa, Octavia…they’re all just so great. It’s a shame that most of them have to die. In ways that range from mildly upsetting to “I’m never getting over this as long as I live”. Moreso because of the writing and acting and less so because of the latent racism and homophobia. I don’t think the show is as racist and homophobic as the internet makes it out to be, but it’s definitely problematic. Killing off the one black lead character in episode three? Killing off a gay character so sloppily that it’s almost like her cause of death was “death by gay sex”. Like…come on, show. I know you can do better than that.

But, what this show is really great for, is it’s moral conundrums. The show can’t go five minutes without a nigh-impossible decision arising. Different character’s take to leadership positions throughout the series. Each character has varied levels of success with their position of power and the decisions they make. I do not envy the amount of difficult decisions that Kane or Clarke have to make, in particular. Even if they do commit a few mass murders between them. It’s cool. They’re not the only ones on the show who do this. You get used to it.

This show is all about feelings all the time and I can’t wait until it comes back. Whether I like it or not, I am now a committed member of the fandom and I have to see how this goes. I need to see Papa Kane again. And Bellarke. And Raven and Octavia being kickass. And Harper and Monty being adorable. And IT WAS 5 YEARS HOLY SHIT SO MUCH HAS PROBABLY CHANGED. So yeah. 10/10. Watch this show.

Leave a comment